Jump to content

RTI VIdeos

Visit our New RTI Videos. Click here!

News Ticker

Union Bank of India has NPAs worth Rs 3,350 crore

Recommended Posts


Union Bank of India has NPAs worth Rs 3,350 crore



Union Bank of India has non-performing assets (NPAs) worth about Rs 3,350 crore from 20 defaulters.

Replying to an RTI query, the bank, however, declined to share the names of the defaulters citing "commercial confidence".

"List of the borrowers cannot be provided as they are of commercial confidence and exempted from disclosure under Section 8(1)(d) of the RTI Act. We inform you, however, that the amount involved in the top 20 NPA accounts as of December 31, 2013, is Rs 3,350.17 crore," the bank said.

The Section bars making public of information related to commercial confidence, trade secrets or intellectual property, the disclosure of which would harm the competitive position of a third party.

Exercising his Right to Information, Venkatesh Nayak had sought details of the top 20 borrowers responsible for NPA from five banks, including Union Bank of India.


Read More: Union Bank of India has NPAs worth Rs 3,350 crore - Business Today - Business News

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Similar Content

    • karira
      By karira
      Home Minister, 48 ex-ministers defaulters DH News Service, Bangalore: Bheemappa Gundappa Gadada, a Right to Information (RTI) activist, brought to light the dreadful revelation that Home Minister M P Prakash, 48 former ministers and seven former legislators have defaulted the State Secretariat to the tune of Rs 1.11 crore in the last few years. Home Minister M P Prakash, 48 former ministers and seven former legislators have defaulted the State Secretariat to the tune of Rs 1.11 crore in the last few years.
      It has come to light through Bheemappa Gundappa Gadada, a Right to Information (RTI) activist, who secured this information under RTI Act. Mr Bheemappa, in turn, circulated copies of the information to the media on Thursday.
      According to the information furnished by Joint Secretary to the Secretariat P Omprakash, former minister Vijyanath Patil tops the list with dues of Rs 23,95,122 lakh, followed by B Somashekar with Rs 8,59,444 lakh.
      M P Prakash, D Nagarajaiah, B Muniyappa Muddappa, Veerakumara A Patil, Baburao B Chinchansur, Basavaraj H Patil, H C Srikantaiah, M C Nanaiah and Allam Veerabhadrappa are among those whose dues exceed more than a lakh.
      Among the prominent leaders who have defaulted are former chief minister and leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly N Dharam Singh, KPCC President Mallikharjuna Kharge, leader of the Opposition in Legislative Council H K Patil, Roshan Baig and Chairman of Legislative Council B K Chandrashekar. 
      Though the Secretariat has initiated steps to recover dues of nine of them through their pensions, no concrete step has been taken with respect to others, except for writing letters to them to pay up, according to RTI documents.
      The dues are mainly towards overstaying in government quarters (when they were ministers), telephone bills, water and electricity charges, missing or damage to articles in the quarters and others, Mr Bheemappa said.
      As far as former legislators are concerned, M K Krishna Reddy, Muniyappa Muddappa and D Nagarajaiah are top defaulters with over Rs 2 lakh dues pending. Other former legislators are Alexander, Vasanth V Saliyan, M Shivanna and Diwakar Babu. While the Secretariat has taken steps to recover dues of four of them, the process is presently on to recover with respect to three others, documents stated.
      Prakash defaulter
      Home Minister M P Prakash has defaulted the Secretariat to the tune of Rs 1,53,089 lakh.
      He has accumulated dues when he was deputy chief minister in the previous Dharam Singh government.
      *M P Prakash : Rs 1,53,089
      *N Dharam Singh : Rs 20,789
      *Mallikharjuna Kharge: Rs 21,370
      *H K Patil: Rs 33,243
      *B K Chandrashekar: Rs 89,118
      *H C Srikantaiah: Rs 4,75,308
      *M C Nanaiah : Rs 1,64,522
      Deccan Herald - Home Minister, 48 ex-ministers defaulters

    • karira
      By karira
      As reported by IANS in sify.com on 21 January 2011:
      RTI Awards presented in Delhi
      RTI Awards presented in Delhi
      New Delhi, Jan 20 (IANS) From a sports teacher to widow of a slain cop, five people from various walks of life were felicitated here Thursday for effective use of the Right to Information Act.
      The winners, including Vinita Kamte, widow of Mumbai Police officer Ashok Kamte who was killed in the Nov 26, 2008 Mumbai terrorist attack, were shortlisted from 726 applications received by the jury appointed by non-governmental organisation Public Cause Research Foundation, set up by RTI activist Arvind Kejriwal.
      The jury included Infosys chief mentor N.R. Narayana Murthy, former chief justice of India J.S. Verma, former chief election commissioner J.M. Lyngdoh and journalist Madhu Trehan.
      Manoj Kumar Karwasra, a sports teacher in Hisar district of Haryana, filed several RTI applications to expose how government land had been encroached by the panchayat members themselves.
      'I have great feeling now. It will boost my morale,' Karwasra told IANS.
      Mahiti Adhikar Gujarat Pahel, a helpline service for RTI queries which was launched in May 2006 and claims that it has received more than 60,000 calls till now, was one of the winners.
      Sadhna Pandya, coordinator of helpline, said the award will increase their responsibility.
      'We receive calls from across the country in various languages,' she said.
      Athar Shamsi, an advocate from Faizabad in Uttar Pradesh, was also honoured for fighting for the rights of the beedi workers who were not being paid their full wages by factory owners.
      The workers were allegedly paid just Rs.27-34 per thousand beedis made, as against the minimum wage of Rs.60.
      The other winners of the Best RTI Citizen award were Ramesh Kumar Verma from Haryana and Rajan Savlo Ghate from Goa. The Best RTI Journalist award went to Saikat Dutta of Outlook for exposing a Rs.2,500 crore-scam in rice exports.
      Pradeep Kumar from Bilaspur in Himachal Pradesh received the Best Public Information Officer award.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use & Privacy Policy