News Ticker
  • RTI query reveals banking frauds of ₹ 2.05 Trillion reported in the last 11 years
  • 509 per cent rise in cases under child labour law: Study
  • The Central Information Commission has allowed disclosure of file notings on the mercy petition of a rape and murder convict, rejecting the government's contention that the records cannot be disclosed as these are privileged documents under Article 74(2) of the Constitution.
  • Electoral bonds worth over ₹5,800 crore were bought by donors to fund political parties between March 1, 2018 and May 10, 2019, a Right to Information reply has said.
  • Don't pay 500/- for answer sheet now- Supreme Court says if Answer sheet is asked under RTI, RTI Fees will be governed
akshay_k72

Question Related To Indian Postal Order

akshay_k72

Hi,

I am a newbie here and this is my first post. My passport has got delayed and I have decided to file an RTI application. The application is ready with me and I will be sending the same through Speed Post AD.

The application will be sent along IPO of Rs. 10.00 in favour of "Regional Passport Officer, Delhi" (or should I leave it blank?). Do I need to affix any postage stamp on the IPO? Also do I need to cross the IPO the same way as we cross the cheque? I have never used an IPO before hence these queries. Will be grateful if some one can reply.

Thanks.

• Like 1

Ketan Modi

Dear Akshay,

Just go to the Head Post Office of your area and purchase the IPO of Rs.10=00. Then put down your name and address in the sender's column on the mid-right. Thereafter go the office of the Deputy/Assistant PRO with three copies of your application and hand it over to that desk. The postal officer shall acknowledge one copy and forward the same to the S/CPIO Concerned under registered a/d. You don't have to pay for the transfer u/s 6(3). Happy information seeking

If you like to know more about Indian Postal Orders then visit sister website here: