Jump to content

Leaderboard

  1. karira

    karira

    Super Moderator


    • Likes

      5,893

    • Content Count

      43,915


  2. Prasad GLN

    Prasad GLN

    Pro User


    • Likes

      1,670

    • Content Count

      31,566


  3. jps50

    jps50

    Moderators


    • Likes

      1,579

    • Content Count

      15,720


  4. dr.s.malhotra

    dr.s.malhotra

    Pro User


    • Likes

      1,471

    • Content Count

      7,577


Popular Content

Showing most liked content since 09/22/2006 in all areas

  1. how to find the name and address of the mobile number
    72 likes
  2. Hi, I have an EPF number provided by EPFO, Hyderabad, Andhra pradesh. How can i check my balance as of now any time? Please give me the details. Thanks, Amjath
    70 likes
  3. Application Form for RTI-Central Format of application for obtaining information under the Right to Information Act, 2005 To, The Central Public information Officer, (Name of the Office with Address) (1) Full name of Applicant: Mr./Mrs./Ms. (2) Address: (3) Particulars of the information required (i) Subject matter of Information: (ii) The period to which the information relates: (iii) Description of the information required: (iv) Whether the information is required by post or in person:
    53 likes
  4. All new comers to the portal: pls note that address details of mobile numbers are available only to law enforcement agencies Dear Sir, I am a student and i am getting problem with a number because i am getting missedcalls from that number and i don't know him and when i try to talk with him he uses valgur language. I am very tolerate with this. So Please Sir tell me any WebSide to find out his Address and Identity. Thank you, Gaurav Giri
    51 likes
  5. How we can find out Name & address by Mobile number ?
    45 likes
  6. There is no time bar taking refill cylinder Most of Gas distributors do not book the cylinder before a periodd of say more than n 20 days after the cylinder has been supplied. But there is no such bar. Through a RTI Application I have confirmed from the Oil Companies. as details below. Since the issue is related to all of us and all over India. Please provide maximum publicity to the issue in the larger benefit of all Gas users. On 14th Nov.2009 I filed a RTI Application with Various Oil Companies to which I have received following reply: Q:-Copy of rules for refilling o
    39 likes
  7. Ok! a very pertinent question. Pre-requisites: Information about Public Information officer, name, address e.t.c. Locate central Government PIO's here! In case you have problems locating your PIO/APIO you can address your RTI application to the PIO C/o Head of Department and send it to the concerned public authority with the requisite application fee. The Head of Department will have to forward your application to the concerned PIO. http://www.rtiindia.org/forum/ask-rti-query/126-there-any-organization-government-not-covered-under-right-information-act.html
    30 likes
  8. On our second Anniversary I said 'Let us Connect, Network and Reach out', the dream was not Myopic. On 27th September 2009 just over 3 years of our existence we are 100,000 member strong community. With more than 4 lakhs pages of community posts at our website, surely we are proud of our members who either posted a question, or an answer, or wrote a blog which made Right to Information worthwhile. Do you have a success story to share with us: Now Post your video at RTI INDIA! On this occasion we are introducing a new forum at RTI INDIA, RTI Community - RTI Videos at rtiindia.org which
    28 likes
  9. hi i want to get information through mobile number, can you tel me the procedure..
    24 likes
  10. Dear members, I am a PIO and would start this thread and present my point in a slightly different angle. We in this forum are actively doing something strong to propagate the virtue the RTI act brought to us. Yes of course, without the act, public offices would not be this transparent. And WE the citizens of India are getting the real access to the offices. But who are the people in that WE? Only people below poverty lines? only people who are not educated? only farmers? only the labourers? only those who are not the working class? only the educated? only the bureaucrats? only the working
    24 likes
  11. We are happy to announce RTI INDIA is now available to all its subscriber via Free SMS. Now you can know the latest news, success stories, important events and much more about Right to Information by subscribing to our SMS channel. Please visit our channel link to subscribe to our Free SMS service. http://labs.google.co.in/smschannels/subscribe/RTIINDIASMS Alternatively you can subscribe to RTI INDIA SMS by sending an SMS: ON RTIINDIASMS to 9870807070 Thank You for being part of our community. RTI INDIA TEAM At any point of time you want to unsubscribe from RTIINDIA
    21 likes
  12. i want to know address of a mobile number.please help me to find it out.
    20 likes
  13. It was such an overwhelming moment that for some time everything stopped and we were lost with words but not our members. They started wishing us much before we could do so. Kindly follow us at this thread to join our celebrations and happiness. http://www.rtiindia.org/forum/33958-hundred-thousand-members-today.html Thank You!
    20 likes
  14. Since December 2009, I have filed over 20 direct Complaints under Sec 18, with the CIC for: 1. Sec 4 Disclosure by Supreme Court and various High Courts 2. RTI Rules of various High Courts violating the basic RTI Act itself. Attaching them in the thread for general reference. Still to do the exercise for : Rajasthan High Court Punjab & Haryana High Court Sikkim High Court COMPLAINT Allahabad High Court Rules.pdf COMPLAINT under SEC 18 for Sec 4 disclosure Allahabad HC.pdf COMPLAINT Andhra Pradesh High Court Rules.pdf COMPLAINT Chattisgarh High Court Rules.pdf COMPLA
    19 likes
  15. DISCLOSURE OF EVALUATED ANSWER SHEETS OF UNIVERSITIES The Central Information Commission has constituted a seven member bench to decide whether evaluated answer sheets of university examinations be disclosed under the Right to Information Act, 2005. In the past, a five member Bench of CIC decided not to disclose evaluated answer sheet. The Bench is constituted on the background of an appeal preferred by a Delhi University Student, who was CBSE XII topper and nominee of HRD Ministry’s Commonwealth Scholarship 2009, who appeared for BA (Hons) Economics Final year exams held in Apr-May 2
    18 likes
  16. Most RTI applicants actually ask for "records" in their RTI applications. India has a Act called the Public Records Act 1993 and the consequent Public Record Rules 1997. They are attached to this post. It will be worthwhile for members to go through both of these when faced by situations of record keeping, etc., during a RTI matter. Public Records Act 1993.pdf Public Record Rules 1997.pdf
    18 likes
  17. plz find attached Order of DCDRF Ludhiana dated 09.11.2011 in matter of Sanjeev Malhotra vs Deputy Commissioner Ludhiana and ors. DCDRF Ludhiana 09-11-2011 Sanjeev Malhotra vs DC Ludhiana and ors.pdf
    18 likes
  18. Enclosed in this post is the recent judgment by the apex court clarifying the section 18 & section 19 of the RTI Act. vsprajan Supreme court clarification on Section 18 and Section 19 of the RTI Act.pdf
    16 likes
  19. Attached is the "Manual of Office Procedure" applicable to departments of the Central Government, PSU's, Union Territories, etc. This is useful for understanding the process followed in Government Offices. Manual of Office Procedure.pdf
    16 likes
  20. Lat year, I did a productivity analysis of the APSIC, which was very revealing. Please see: http://www.rtiindia.org/forum/9559-productivity-analysis-apsic.html This year also I am doing the same for the period 01 Jan 2009 to 31 Dec 2009. The 5 RTI Applications, which I send out to the SIC are attached to this post. I request for volunteers in each State and New Delhi, to file similar RTI's with their respective SIC's. Preferably, the volunteer should be located in the State Capital since he can submit the RTI's by hand as well as attend any First and Second Appeal hearings - si
    16 likes
  21. Dear sir, pls help me to findout name and address by mobile number. Pls send the details how could i get the same as earliest. Thanks santosh netke
    16 likes
  22. Reference post #1 above Please find attached more files in addition to attachments in post #1 and 2 above DCDRF VIZIANAGRAM 1.pdf NCDRC SP thirumalarao.doc NCDRC usha Rani Aggarwal.pdf
    15 likes
  23. I was wondering if somebody tell me how to write an RTI application from begining?What things one should remember to follow, what are the pitfalls? Is there any thing which should not be written in the application?
    14 likes
  24. We would like to know how would you define an RTI Activist and how would you name them. I came across a word 'Info Activist' in one of the Newspaper! Would you define activist as: Those who regularly seek information from Public Offices for larger public good or would you define them as those who help others in framing and using RTI. Personally, I think it is a mix of both. But is there a proportion and degrees? or is there some other definition to add? Is the term limited to only organized Activist like an NGO, Samiti, organization? I am opening the poll f
    14 likes
  25. Please find attached a list of successful Consumer Complaints in RTI Cases Before National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission p { margin-bottom: 0.08in; } NCDRC Iin RP No. 2774 of 2004 IN Usha Rani Aggarwal Versus Nagar Palika Parishad, Haldwani NCDRC IN RP No. 1975 OF 2005 IN Dr. S.P. Thirumala Rao Vs. Municipal Commissioner Mysore City Municipal Corporation Before Various District Consumer Fora District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, Mandi H.P . CC No.14/2009 IN Lawan Thakur Vs PIO-cum-Additional Distt Mag
    14 likes
  26. This is a little success story I want to share with the forum members. For the last one year I have been trying to unravel the mystery behind the huge amount of money lying with the Indian Banking System in the shape of Dormant/Inoperative accounts. These money legitimately belong to the owners/heirs of the account holders and not to the Banks. Large nos. of accounts are lying around and Banks are coolly enjoying the funds without paying any interest on it and doing nothing on it. I discovered that thousands of crores of money in more than half a lakh accounts are lying in the Ban
    14 likes
  27. How do I find the address and name of a person by the mobile no only. and can it be provided free of cost. Thanking You.
    13 likes
  28. :mad:hi i want to find name from the bsnl mobile number?
    13 likes
  29. How to check the PF Balance, Claim Status
    13 likes
  30. Crusader, it is very thoughtful of you to have initiated a thread on this topic. I am sure this thread will help all the new comers to grasp this concept easily. Shrawan has already provided a downloadable version of the RTI Application format. Apart from that I would like to emphasise on a few points that come to my mind. The application should invariably bear the title " Application for Information under RTI Act 2005". It should also contain a declaration to the effect that the applicant is a citizen of India. A DD/IPO for Rs. 10/= towards the application money or proof of remittance
    13 likes
  31. Attached are the following two detailed guidelines: 1. Guidelines on Government Websites 2. Guidelines on email management use by Government Offices Very often, RTI applicants search for information on Government websites and fail to find it or find that the website has not been updated. These guidelines address and explain all such matters. EDIT NOTE:The Guidelines for Government websites attached to this thread have been removed since they are the 2003 guidelines. The new guidelines for 2009 are attached to post # 7 in this thread....just scroll down the page. Guide lines e
    12 likes
  32. In a extensively discussed and elaborated order, CIC (order is by IC A N Tiwari) has ruled that a Appellate Authority can be recommended for Disciplinary action under Sec 20(2) of the RTI Act if he acts more like a senior officer discharging his normal administrative duties. The appellant asked for some information from the CPIO of the LIC Zonal Office in Chennai. The information pertained to a lift which was not functioning properly in LIC's building. The CPIO gave vague replies and claimed that records are missing. The FAA did not give any reasoned order and just stated that as soon as r
    12 likes
  33. Sirs, I have come across one decision of Dopt over the role of appellet authority from this site only, I am attaching a file related to the Role of appeallet authority, which is a decision of Dopt. please go through, which may be help ful to many members and viewers. [4. If an appellate authority comes to a conclusion that the appellant should be supplied information in addition to what has been supplied to him by the CPIO, he may either (i) pass an order directing the CPIO to give such information to the appellant, or (ii) he himself may give information to the appellent wh
    12 likes
  34. Reference post #1 above Please find attached more files in addition to attachments in post #1 DCDRF NIZAMABAD.pdf DCDRF SOUTH MUMBAI.pdf DCDRF TUTICORIN.pdf DCDRF TUTICORIN 2.pdf DCDRF VIZIANAGARAM 2.pdf
    12 likes
  35. Hi, this is Ajai Vikrama Singh... My father, Ret. Chairman - Regional Rural Bank and Ret. AGM - U.P. Co-operative Bank LKo., died on Nov. 26th 2008. He owned a SBBL gun with a license. After his death I applied for a gun license(death case) on 27th of Jan. 2009 for keeping his gun as a responsibility he left out as the other assets and family members, cause i'm the only son in the family. I spent more than 11 months for tracing out the proceedings of my requisition suddenly RTI flashes in my mind Like a MANTRA. I write an application under the RTI act 2005 to know the proceedings regading t
    12 likes
  36. Dear Colleagues Glad to be here after a long time. The absence was for pursuing the RTI Act in the right direction and gathering information on Misappropriation and Corruption in a Central Government Organisation based at Hyderabad under the Dept of Biotechnology. I had addressed over 50 RTI applications (over a period of 4 years) to this Organisation and other organisations. In all with skillful drafting of the questions under RTI, I was able to get convincing replies from the CPIO, which revealed irregularities committed. The misappropriations pertain to the period 1999 to 2008. Th
    12 likes
  37. If FTAs, the nuclear deal, SEZs and so on were India’s attempt to fashion policy to keep up with her neighbours, a large part of the UPA’s efforts, both in its first avataar as well as the current one, is to extend the domestic reforms of the 1990s to the provision of services for the poor. Top on the list is the Right to Information (RTI) Act. A brainchild of UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, the RTI really flowed from the work of activists such as Aruna Roy who campaigned for the right to get muster roll data for various anti-poverty programmes. RTI portal rtiindia.org has already got 100,000 re
    12 likes
  38. This is my first major (interim) success story. Interim because I am yet to receive the information. My first second appeal has been disposed off in my favour (almost completely) along with the issue of a penalty notice. As some authors dedicate their books to some beloved and revered person(s) I dedicate my this grand success to Karira, jps50, colnrkurup, shakti and someguy. Because of these guys I could build a formidable case which fetched the positive order with order of disclosure AND the penalty notice. During the hearing I hardly spoke a word other than few sentences
    12 likes
  39. I want all the detail of bye-laws of co-op housing society. Power of the chairman, power of the secratary, power of treasurer and other committee members. Detail bye-laws with all the as provided be rules section wise.
    12 likes
  40. how to find the address through cell no through internet simply in india
    12 likes
  41. Acceptance of RTI application/appeal Accept the RTI applications without asking the reasons for making the application, as asking for the reasons for making the application is in violation of Sec 6(2). Do not insist on countersignature by some particular officer. Make necessary suitable arrangement to receive the application for information/appeal in the absence of nominated officer/official. Accept the RTI application fee in the mode prescribed by Nodal Department i.e. Department of Personnel & Training. Mode of RTI application fee are i) Cash; ii) Demand Draft; iii) Bankers chequ
    11 likes
  42. i want to know how can an emplotee get the details regarding what exact amount its been there in his provident fund account, how 2 access his account, how 2 get the updated amount in regular. in a case if an employee dosent know his PROVIDENT FUND account number, how to get the details regarding that one, bcz now a days, many organisations deduct money in the name of pf account and say "u will be getting the account number when u r confirmed in the organisation.......like that:confused: please help me regarding my quiries.... this is the first time ive ever posted...pls forgive me
    11 likes
  43. To: Mr Wajahat Habibullah Chief Information Commissioner Central Information Commission New Delhi cc: Mr Paul – NIC Dear Sir, COMPLAINT UNDER SEC 18 of the RTI Act 2005 Sec 4 Disclosure on the CIC website I would like to draw your attention to the Sec 4 Disclosure on the CIC website: I request you to “direct” the concerned officer to bring the Sec 4 Disclosure up to date as mandated under the RTI Act 2005. Some of the disclosures are in the “time wrap” mode ! 1. http://cic.gov.in/CIC-Section4/Section-4-1-b-i.pdf
    11 likes
  44. A leading public sector bank had recovered Rs.10000/- from account of my friend’s son towards various service charges while closing the account in Nov 2009. The bank did not respond to normal channels of redressal of complaint. At my guidance, RTI application was filed on 07-12-2009 followed by first appeal for no reply on 07-02-2010. On 05-03-2010 bank contacted him and requested him to collect refund of Rs.5000/- and withdraw RTI application and first appeal. RTI does work.
    11 likes
  45. In continuation to our earlier report at our forum here http://www.rtiindia.org/forum/33870-pm-meet-advani-tuesday-decide-new-central-information-commission-head.html, Mumbai, Nov 1 (PTI) Noted social activist Anna Hazare is among those who have proposed the name of Kiran Bedi, India's first woman IPS officer, for the post of Chief Central Information Commissioner (CCIC). "I sent the letter to the PM two days ago. Right to Information (RTI) activist Magsaysay award winner Arvind Kejriwal told me he is also sending a similar letter," Hazare told PTI over phone from Ramdev's ashram at H
    11 likes
  46. Vannakkam Members As requested by Mr. Karira the success story is narrated hereunder: In Tamilnadu, Tirunelveli Municipal Corporation area Ward No: 53, one miscreant encroached corporation common lane area and the neighbour's area and constructed a over bridge from North side house to South side house owned by the miscreant and his wife. This was done in the year 2007. This illegal acts was informed to the Municipal Corporation Authorities through complaint petitions by the neighbour and the common public. There existed Laxity and Lack of Alertness on the part of the Municipal Corporation
    11 likes
  47. When in doubt, I always request everyone to read the preamble of the RTI Act. The three stated objectives are: 1. Have a informed citizenry through transparency of information and transparent government working 2. Hold the Government and its instrumentalities accountable to those whom they govern 3. Contain corruption Nowhere does it talk about helping the government to formulate policies, improve governance, etc. These might be some of the positive side effects, but are definitely not the stated objectives. Look at some of the issues which are there in the thread starter - PF, P
    11 likes
  48. RTI Act very purpose is to equip citizens with information in matters of Government. We have embarked upon the field with a hope to enrich and equip all who are willing to share and inquisitive enough to explore and get informed by use of the Right to Information Act. We are proud of our Members who had made our community efforts a success, either by way of a question or by posting a solution or simply being here with us. For us its a sure sign of popularity of RTI Act. Further, I must share, approaching 1000000 hits per day, 10000 unique users per day, the figure of 1 lakhs registered
    11 likes
  49. Dear All, I have to find out a name , address against a mobile number available with me. Pls suggest is there any website by which I can found his name. Thanks Gaurav Nautiyal
    11 likes
  50. We are happy to release the 1st version of the RTI Act 2005 eBook. The purpose of the eBook is to provide the Act in a comprehensive download able form. With this eBook, you can search any part of the Act, print, and carry with you and use also for research purpose. The eBook is free to download from the RTI India Information portal from here: http://www.rtiindia.info/download/p13_sectionid/1/p13_fileid/4 Kindly use this discussion thread to give your feedback.
    11 likes
This leaderboard is set to Kolkata/GMT+05:30
  • Tell a friend

    Love RTI INDIA- Online RTI? Tell a friend!
  • Most Contributions

    1. karira
      karira
      43915
    2. Prasad GLN
      Prasad GLN
      31566
    3. RAVEENA_O
      RAVEENA_O
      18992
    4. ambrish.p
      ambrish.p
      16009
    5. jps50
      jps50
      15720
  • Most Solved

    1. 1
      Prasad GLN
      Prasad GLN
      1
  • Our picks

    • सड़क निर्माण में भ्रष्टाचार ना हो और पारदर्शिता के लिए आप चाहे तो निर्माण स्थल से #RTI के तहत निर्माण कार्य का सैंपल लेकर लैब में टेस्टिंग के लिए दे सकते है। http://rtiindia.org

       

      : https://righttoinformation.wiki/guide/applicant/application/sample/road-work
      • 0

        Reputation Points

      • 0 replies
    • Instances that involve disclosure of sensitive information, it may be rationale for the CPIO to ask for citizenship proof
      Information Commissioner Divya Prakash Sinha held that seeking citizenship proof in case of demand of sensitive information is justified but seeking a signed copy of the application does not seem appropriate as the online portal does not mandate uploading of signatures.
       
      Sinha was hearing the plea of an Odisha-based RTI applicant who had sought from the Army information regarding implementation of rules under the Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013 in all defence establishments.
      The Army did not provide any information to the applicant, the CIC noted. Akhand approached the Commission with a complaint that the central public information officer (CPIO) of the Army has demanded a signed copy of his online RTI application as well as identity proof before providing him the records.
      “In this regard, it may be noted that as far as CPIO’s request for citizenship proof is concerned, the same is not questioned as Commission in its prior decision(s) has held the view that Armed Forces stand on a slightly different footing as there may be instances that involve disclosure of sensitive information, and for such reasons it may be rationale for the CPIO to ask for citizenship proof,” Sinha noted.
      Originally posted here!
       
      • 0 replies
    • Some of you -- at least CJ Karira, who helped me years ago in one crucial step, getting SEBI to acknowledge its own circular! -- know of a 15-year quest among desi academics to get SEBI to release its stale masked FII data for academic research. At one point years ago a parliamentary query by Shyam Benegal, then Rajya Sabha MP, sought the release of this data for academic research. He then made a subsequent RTI query asking what had done about his complaint about the terrible answer he got to his parliamentary question. We thought we had succeeded when in response to that SEBI did put in public domain that FII data and promised to update. And to  their credit, they did update it from time to time, even if a bit fitfully. But thanks to a question by a curious IIT-Madras undergrad, we realized that what SEBI gave with one hand they took away with another. While the idea was that the FII IDs would be masked to preserve privacy, without telling anyone, SEBI changed the masks each month, drastically reducing the value for academic research (since you can't even tell how many distinct FIIs are there in the data base, and whether anyone traded over time). It also caused mistakes in academic research since no one imagined that SEBI would use changing masks, when no other regulator or exchange on the planet does so.

      To get SEBI to finally agree to not hide by changing masks, but to keep a stable mask, has taken many years. But at least per the ruling received yesterday, it has been achieved, with no violence to anyone. I attach the ruling. I can also post the various submissions made at the Second Appeal hearing if there is any interest (need to scrub email-IDs, per the policy of this site).

      Addendum_To_CIC_2nd_appeal_28th_February_2020.pdfThis RTI site, in particular Karira-ji, has been very helpful to me in the course of this long episode thru countless RTI queries. And I am grateful for that from the bottom of my heart. I am confident we will see quite a few PhD dissertations using this database within the next few years.

      Addendum_To_CIC_2nd_appeal_28th_February_2020.pdf
      Second_Addendum_w_Appendices_29th_Feb_2020.pdf
      CIC-SEBIH-A-2017-139953-BJ.pdf
      Third_Addendum to Additional Submission for RTI Second Appeal_2nd_March_2020.pdf
      To_CIC_2nd_appeal_27th_February_2020_Redacted.pdf
      Draft_Talking_Points_for_the_Hearing.pdf
      From_SEBI_Written Submiissions - Murugappa Krishnan 139953.pdf
      thanking_CIC_post_decision_Redacted.pdf
      • 3 replies
    • There can be no faith in government if our highest offices are excused from scrutiny - they should be setting the example of transparency.
      • 2

        Reputation Points

      • 0 replies
    • LUCKNOW: The Central government has provided categorized security cover to 308 persons, out of which 24 have been provided the highest Z-plus cover, according to the answer to an RTI query.


      As per information provided by S.C.L. Das, Joint Secretary in the Union Home Ministry to city-based activist Nutan Thakur, two dozen persons have been given Z-plus security, 59 persons have been given Z security, 109 have been given Y-plus, 34 have been given Y and 82 persons have been given X category security.

       
      • 2

        Reputation Points

      • 1 reply
  • Popular Contributors

    1. 1
      Prasad GLN
      Prasad GLN
      19
    2. 2
      Sunil Ahya
      Sunil Ahya
      2
    3. 3
      damodard29
      damodard29
      1
    4. 4
      ashakantasharma
      ashakantasharma
      1
    5. 5
      jps50
      jps50
      1
  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      119,458
    • Total Posts
      427,103
  • Blog Statistics

    • Total Blogs
      2,804
    • Total Entries
      2,923
  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      489,104
    • Most Online
      12,211

    Alavudeen
    Newest Member
    Alavudeen
    Joined
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use & Privacy Policy