New Voter Id Card Issue

dixitmca

Question

Sir

I am 30 year old from a village(Amihit,Kerakat,jaunpur(u.p.)) and about 2 months ago i applied for voter id card and after many attempt ,i got my Voter Id Card,but.......

My name is not correct .

i ask the man whom we call "lekpal" (a Government Employee Deployed By Government for Gram Panchayat) that who is responsible for this,then he told that all fault is in Computer,

Now i am sure that it is not a fault of computer because i am also a software Engineer,

Now i just want to know who is responsible for this?

How can i modify this fault?

6 answers to this question

Atul Patankar

Though this will probably be a clerical mistake (by data-feeding sub-contractor's employee), the ultimate responsibility lies with Chief Electoral officer of your district. This office will be probably situated within DM's office.

You have to submit form 8 for correction of details in voter list. After, say, 4-5 weeks, you can apply under Right to Information Act to know the status of your application, action taken thereon, etc.

Alternatively, you may choose to take a stand that you had made no mistake in original application, and you do not want to apply(in form 8) for correcting other peoples' mistakes. In that case, you can immidiately apply under RTI, seeking copy of your form 6 for enrolement, copy of the entry made as a result of that application, reasons for variation if any, and designation of officer who authorised such change.

Also go thru numerous thread on this forum discussing similar issues, like http://www.rtiindia.org/forum/10566-voting-id.html

Do go thru RTI Guide before actually drafting your application.

jitendra2010

Dear Ganesh Ji,

Please don't try to find out the culprit who has made mistake in your Voter ID Card. You are a Software Engineer, so it is possible that you may have that level of accuracy in your work.