Refund of Road Tax from Hyderabad RTO

NavinSaran

Question

NavinSaran

Subject: AP life tax paid on the Vehicle being No. UP-15U-9998 on 08-12-2006 amount of Rs.31,570/- (Thirty one thousand five hundred seventy only)

Respected Sir,

I am a resident of Meerut, UP, my husband in the month of March, 2006 was posted to Hyderabad on a project by his employer for a short term.

We own a Wagon-R car Registered at RTA, Meerut in my name. The said vehicle is brought to Hyderabad since it would be comfortable for transportation within the city. On 16-11-2006 the RTA, Hyderabad issued a challan (No.1852212) and raised demand to pay AP life tax. We had informed the RTA authorities that our stay at Hyderabad would be for a very short period and therefore the payment of AP life tax is un-warranted for which the RTA forced to pay the AP life tax and stated when the car is taken back to Meerut the remaining unused part of the AP life tax would be returned after deducting the used portion of AP life tax.

Having no other alternative we paid the AP life tax on the Vehicle on 08-12-2006 amounting to Rs.31,570/- wide DD. No. 118176 dated 06-08-2008 of ICICI Bank and Payment receipt No.m3/1045544.

On completion of assignment at Hyderabad, the car was taken back to Meerut and RTA was requested for refund of the un-used portion of AP life tax.

On 05-05-2008 we submitted a letter to the Joint Commissioner & Secretary, RTA Khairatabad, Hyderabad stating that the car is shifting from Hyderabad, AP to Meerut, U.P., and requested to refund AP life tax after deducting the used portion of life tax. RTA did not refund the un-used portion of AP life tax, Instead we were advised to submit proof of vehicle returned back to home state. RTA, Hyderabad demanded the proof of vehicle being present in Meerut (U.P.) hence the vehicle was produced before the RTA, Meerut.